Skip to content

Gary Johnson for President?

June 22, 2011

Why have I not heard about Gary Johnson before?  I don’t expect the msm to have told me anything about any Republican candidates but I feel as if I should have heard something from at least some conservative source.  Was I not paying attention?

 

His description of government is exactly what I’ve been trying to articulate:

“The government has a role to protect me against individuals that would do me harm — whether that be property damage or physical harm. The federal government has an obligation to protect us against foreign governments that would raise arms again us. But beyond that, government does way too much.”

 

Exactly.

 

I wish that local government in Saskatoon understood this.  Government should not build art galleries.  Government should not force recycling.

 

Obviously, I have some reading to do about Gary Johnson but so far I am very interested.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Connie permalink
    June 23, 2011 7:09 pm

    Interesting…….. I think I’ll keep my eye on him also. I don’t think “talk radio” has even mentioned him, either that or I just missed it.

  2. r.e. permalink
    June 23, 2011 9:30 pm

    Michelle,

    Here is where you and I agree to disagree. I believe that government has a role to play in supporting the arts. They need to be a partner in the process and ensure that art, and I’m not talking about avant-guard art such as the dress of meat, is accessible to people who may not have the means to access art and culture.

    I agree though that recycling should not e in the hands of government to enforce, encourage sure, but not to pass a bylaw

  3. Michele permalink*
    June 23, 2011 9:45 pm

    We definitely disagree on this one.

    Government has no role at all in the arts. None.

    In fact, the government has no role in culture — literature, music, drama, or art.

    Do you really think that MILLIONS of tax dollars should be used for an art gallery when our streets are not safe?

  4. r.e. permalink
    June 23, 2011 10:54 pm

    I think that there has to be a balance. Government has to be more than just law and order. It has to foster a climate where inspiration and the celebration of humanity and where safety and security exist.

    I don’t believe that money alone would change the climate of safety on our streets It will take a change in attitude from the citizenry. A change where people step up and take responsibility for their actions rather than blame an external third party. Where people are actively involved in others peoples lives, and that involvement is not only encouraged, but welcomed.

    There were some people on our street late one night walking up and down looking for trouble, a couple of us decided that it was our role to walk up to them and say.. hey what are you guys doing here? They weren’t around very long after that, though we hear that they did break some car windows a few blocks away.

    The irony is that our neighbor knew one of the people on that block, and they, the person on that block, saw these kids but didn’t step up to ask them anything.

    money won’t solve the safety issue, communication will.

Leave a Reply

