Skip to content

The newspaper just doesn’t get it.

June 12, 2011

If I want to know about breaking news in Saskatoon, I look to NewsTalk650 and not the StarPhoenix.

 

Here’s an example why:

June 11, 2011 6:34 pm  “No new contract for Saskatchewan teachers”

 

June 12, 2011 10:02 pm  “Teachers, gov’t fail to reach agreement”

 

Seriously.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. r.e. permalink
    June 12, 2011 11:43 pm

    Michelle,
    that is not entirely fair. Newstalk lives and dies by shallow quick reporting, not to say that the newspaper isn’t shallow but the point of radio is to distill the information down to small tiny news bites. the point of the paper is to hopefully provide enough depth in a story to at least last through a cup of coffee and a muffin.

  2. Michele permalink*
    June 13, 2011 9:48 am

    I suspect that the reason for the delay was the timing of the announcement. The StarPhoenix doesn’t publish on Sunday and the Monday issue is always quite thin. There must be virtually no staff over the weekend.

    I expect news websites to have breaking news and I frequent the ones which do so.

  3. Michele permalink*
    June 13, 2011 10:13 am

    Also, did you notice that the StarPhoenix article was written from the same “joint statement” that NewTalk650 used and both online posts had essentially the same information? Those extra 27 hours didn’t lead to any additional information.

  4. June 15, 2011 6:48 pm

    Listening to Newstalk on Monday afternoon, I was getting rather agitated to listen to David Kirtin telling me that it was all SAHOs fault that HSAS was striking because SAHO wouldn’t agree to binding arbitration.

    I was thinking, “Seriously Mr. Kirtin, you can’t find a better way to report the story than THAT”.

    Long story… yes Newstalk is faster, but they miss the point a lot.

  5. Michele permalink*
    June 15, 2011 8:02 pm

    I agree. Some of the on-air personalities make me want to throw my radio out the window. I know which ones to listen to and which ones to switch the radio over to the Bull.

    However, for quick announcements of breaking news, they beat the SP every time.

  6. January 31, 2012 12:46 pm

    Admiring the commitment you put into your website and in depth information you present. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

