Skip to content

A surprisingly dull protest.

March 27, 2011

Well, I attended the “Peaceful Rally for Peace” sponsored by the Islamic Association of Saskatchewan today.*  Are you surprised to hear that there was no criticism of Israel or the United States?  I was.

The signs and flags all focused on Libya with mention also of Yemen, Bahrain, and Syria.  A sign and some of the chants thanked Canada for supporting the anti-Qaddafi forces.  (Have you heard that the anti-Qaddafi forces include al Qaeda?  Add that to the Muslim Brotherhood in Egypt and I’m increasingly convinced that we should just stay out of all of it.  Batten down the hatches, circle the wagons, lock the back door, etc.)

So, what makes this different from the 2009 rally?  First, Israel is not  involved in Libya so thankfully the rally lacked direct attacks on Israel.  Of course, the protesters couldn’t resist adding “Freedom for Palestine” to their chanting.   (UpdatePerhaps they mean freedom from Hamas?)  Second, the notice for this meeting was short and appears to only have been sent to the Islamic Association.  Third, this rally appeared carefully orchestrated and controlled.

My main thought while observing the rally was “Who are they protesting for?”.  Who was their audience?  Very little media was in attendance.  I saw one video camera and possibly one or two print media people.  Almost everyone at the rally was part of the rally.  Walking traffic on a frigid Saturday afternoon by City Hall is virtually non-existent.  Who was the message for?  The speakers mentioned showing support for the people in Libya.  Is someone sending or posting a video message for them?

Am I the only one who finds it amusing that the crowd of people rallying for freedom included two women in full-on niqabs?  Seriously.  Black face masks in Saskatoon.

And the group was at least 95% segregated by gender.

* Does this group really represent everyone at the Islamic Association of Saskatchewan?  I’m curious because I don’t understand how that works.  Do they have to have a vote at a meeting to decide on an official message?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 12345 permalink
    March 29, 2011 2:04 pm

    Seriously? You guys who run this website really really really just hate muslims don’t you? I dont think you could have been any more blatantly begrudged by the fact that we even exist in the world. This whole website is so anti-muslim its not even funny. I love how some people put a blanket on the whole of the islamic religion and just hate/resent/despise/detest all the people who belong to it. I guess ignorant people like you are what will make the world a better place. I guess since there are a couple of stupid idiotic extremists out there that all of us normal, peace loving, muslims must be just like them! Im a 3rd generation Canadian, born and raised here. Majority of my friends are nonmuslim. I wear Hijab. I am proud to be a muslim. I love my religion. And I respect all other religions. But for people like you i might as well be an oppressed member of the taliban! Love the ignorance! You really couldnt care less that innocent people are dieing out there could you? Because they are muslim they dont deserve anyones support. Lets just all group them up as undeserving anti-americans! Even if it is against a tyrant ruler whos been killing and torturing innocent people for decades.

    “The signs and flags all focused on Libya with mention also of Yemen, Bahrain, and Syria. A sign and some of the chants thanked Canada for supporting the anti-Qaddafi forces. (Have you heard that the anti-Qaddafi forces include al Qaeda? Add that to the Muslim Brotherhood in Egypt and I’m increasingly convinced that we should just stay out of all of it. Batten down the hatches, circle the wagons, lock the back door, etc.) “

  2. Nili permalink
    April 25, 2011 6:23 am

    I live in the middle east. There is a whole lot of hate and evil here–but it is not coming from Jews or Christians. Sadly the world at large thinks that pandering to Islam is cool. What they don’t see are the true facts there for anyone willing to look. Islam stands for submission. Regardless of how they go about it, the end goal is a world controlled by Islam and sharia law with everyone subservient to them–or headless. Take a good look at how they are slowly eliminating everyone but muslims on my side of the world. I don’t hate–I would just like to be able to quietly live my own life, and worship the Gd I believe in, without being forced to put a garbage bag over my head and lifting my arse 5 times a day.

Leave a Reply

