Skip to content

Peaceful rally for peace in Israel?

March 25, 2011

Just kidding.

There is a rally scheduled for tomorrow afternoon in Saskatoon and the e-mail stresses that it is a “Peaceful Rally“. The sign labels it a “Rally for Freedom and Justice in the Middle East”.  The attached file is named “Libya Rally” but the organizers must have decided to broaden the target.   Interesting.

 

The men in the photo don’t look very peaceful.  I’m curious about the signs and slogans and speeches at the rally.  Will they be like the anti-Israel rally in 2009?

 

Do you think anyone would mind if I carried a sign encouraging Hamas to stop firing rockets and mortars at Israel and to stop bombing civilians?  Israel is in the Middle East, no?

 

 

 

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2011 3:00 pm

    I would hope that your sign would be common, but somehow I’m assuming that this too will be an anti-Israeli rally. The irony is that Israel is the closest thing to a free state in the entire Middle East.

    Of course, I think they also might need to go back to high school geography class – the last time I looked, Libya was Northern Africa, not the Middle East.

  2. Michele permalink*
    March 25, 2011 4:25 pm

    You’re correct that Libya is geographically North African. I’m guilty of forgetting that as well. I guess in my mind they are philosophically Middle Eastern.

  3. March 26, 2011 10:00 am

    Any chance of going down there to snap a few photos, Michelle?

  4. March 26, 2011 10:01 am

    .. sorry about the extra ‘l’

  5. Michele permalink*
    March 26, 2011 2:06 pm

    I’m on my way.

  6. Libya permalink
    March 26, 2011 7:56 pm

    So, was it an anti-isreal rally after all?

    I know that it wasn’t. I’m so sorry we birders your bubble Michelle. We’ll try harder next time to make your assumptions come true.

    Not.

    Also, the rally was planned for Libya at first but then as things are worsening in the middle east we decided to expand the border and make it for Libya and the middle east.

    Micheal, we know geography very well mind you. Especially since we are from that region!

  7. March 26, 2011 11:34 pm

    Forgive us, Libya, for assuming that this rally would go off the stated topic like the vast majority of rallies of this type generally do.

  8. Libya permalink
    March 27, 2011 3:34 pm

    Ugh! Gotta love spell check on the iPhone. My comment was meant to be read as so:

    So, was it an anti-isreal rally after all?

    I know that it wasn’t. I’m so sorry we burst your bubble Michelle. We’ll try harder next time to make your assumptions come true.

    Not.

    Also, the rally was planned for Libya at first but then as things are worsening in the Middle East we decided to expand the border and make it for Libya and the Middle East.

    Andrew, we know geography very well mind you. Especially since we are from that region!

    Andrew: Do I sense a tad bit of sarcasm in your comment? Perhaps I’m just being paranoid. Very well, you’re forgiven. However, a word of advice? Don’t assume things. It isn’t smart. Facts spead louder then opinion – or should.

  9. TruthWar permalink
    March 27, 2011 7:59 pm

    Israel founded Hamas, read more @ http://www.wariscrime.com/2008/…/hamas-was-founded-by-mossad/

    Wake up.

  10. Michele permalink*
    March 27, 2011 10:09 pm

    Ha ha ha ha ha. So funny.

  11. Libya permalink
    March 28, 2011 7:50 pm

    No no, you’re right Michelle. You are quite sad.

  12. TruthWar permalink
    March 28, 2011 11:47 pm

    Pretty pathetic reply if you ask me Michele, come on, you could do better than just “Ha Ha”.

    Or just wait a second, can you?

    I think not.

    Again, wake up and stop denying the facts. I am prepared to provide more evidence of my previous claim if you ask for it.

    Wake up.

Trackbacks

  1. A surprisingly dull protest. « Because No One Asked

Leave a Reply

