Skip to content

I don’t let my children win board games.

January 25, 2011

Do you?

I play fair and square.  I refuse to play games that are purely chance; they are boring and pointless.   Seriously.  You might as well just flip a coin to decide the winner and move on to something else.  I want my children to do their best when playing a game and to win because they truly did play the game the best.  What does it teach children to let them win?  At what point do you stop letting them win?

Also, children LOVE to beat their parents at games.  LOVE IT.  And I don’t mind being beaten fairly.

So, you are probably not surprised to learn that I don’t think it is wrong at all for a high school basketball team to win a game by a margin of 108 – 3. What was the coach supposed to do?  Should he have his team play poorly on purpose?  Perhaps the losing team should have admitted defeat and forfeited at half-time.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 9:48 am

    When I was 8 or 9 years old, my hockey team’s rivals was from a town just down the road. A few of those players ended up playing higher-calibre hockey, including one who even played in the NHL for a few games, I believe. Their team just destroyed us all year long, and when we played them in the two-game final, we weren’t holding out hope for a miracle victory.

    We lost the first game 12-3, but it was one of the hardest fought matches I had ever played. We then went out and lost the second game 12-2.

    Every one of my team mates gave it their all, and we made our rivals earn every goal they scored. While a win would have been quite an achievement, what we learned that day was pride comes from never backing down, even when you’re down 10 goals.

    It was a lesson that, obviously, stays with me to this day. Apparently, not everyone agrees with that lesson.

  2. Michele permalink*
    January 25, 2011 12:56 pm

    My children are learning that lesson in bowling. Even if you throw gutter ball after gutter ball, you have to finish all three games. They’ve also learned that, if they keep trying to improve, the next game is often much better.

  3. January 26, 2011 8:18 am

    Rule #1 – don’t play Monopoly with children and their parents unless the children are of majority age.

    I did that once with my brother and one of the nieces. Every trade offered, my brother would tell her to reject it. Every trade she offered, no matter how absurd, was to be accepted lest she started pouting and he get upset.

    Lesson learned: we stick to Clue and cards.

Leave a Reply

