Skip to content

Shut up. It’s free.

December 21, 2010

Why do people complain about Facebook?

 

The latest was David Dalka on TechCrunch complaining about Facebook making the font smaller in profiles while making ad space larger.  And?  I didn’t even notice the change.  Is it really that significant?

 

I pay absolutely nothing for Facebook so I’m not owed anything.  Sometimes I trade access to my profile page and personal information for discounts from companies that I like but that’s the only cost to me.  I try to not complain about things that are free and optional.  If you don’t like Facebook, don’t use it.  So simple.

 

Actually, I pay nothing for this blog so I just use the features that are available and work around any difficulties.  If I have to start paying, I’m probably going to expect some additional benefits.  In the meantime, thanks to WordPress for the blog and thanks to Facebook for the networking.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2010 12:47 am

    Something you have to pay for does involve obligations, doesn’t it? But in fairness, the same obligations should apply whether you are paying or not. Saying shut up, it’s free gives carte blanche to anyone who wants to operate a free service with criminal intent. No user should feel they have to have that mindset. There are legal boundaries in all relationships, paid for or not. They come with human and civil rights.

    Where does the ‘shut up, it’s free’ mentality stop? Does it include cruelty within household relationships, because you’re not paying the bills so you have to put up with it? Live in my house, abide by my rules, or get out?

    Even free services should be accountable. If everyone who was psychologically bullied into leaving because they didn’t like part of a ‘free service’ did so, especially if it was abusive, that is exactly the kind of cleared board some of the providers want. That is how you marginalise people while the things people are objecting to become more and more unacceptable. In this way, people get bullied right out of society. It is a very debased form of democracy and majority rule.

    The people you tell to go away are often the best people to have around. And something might be free to you, but SOMEONE is paying for it. What are THEIR interests, what is THEIR agenda?

    Of course, not everything comes down to an agenda. Some things which compromise users are sheer incompetence. It’s the only other explanation. If you don’t say anything, people continue to be compromised.

    I’m sorry, this doesn’t cut it for me.

  2. December 21, 2010 9:29 am

    suebarnett,

    With all due respect, the people who are paying for Facebook are the same people who have caused the changes (smaller type, ad space larger).

    Your argument may work in some of the situations you cited, but in a commercial transaction, they aren’t forcing you to stay. They aren’t forcing you to waste your time there. There are other services which do the same thing as Facebook, although those services aren’t as viral as Facebook. In essence, I agree with Michele – in this case, Shut up, it’s free. The only way that Facebook would get the point that their redesign was unwelcome is through deliberate action such as people quitting. If people quit, then adspace becomes less valuable and Facebook takes a hit in both numbers and revenues. That is where they’ll be accountable. To the individual users? They will never be accountable until those users move on.

  3. Michele permalink*
    December 21, 2010 2:36 pm

    Exactly.

  4. December 21, 2010 4:55 pm

    Exactly.

    Silences everything, really. Everything I’ve said is totally invalid with regard to anything you have said.

    I’m never sure what people mean when they say, ‘with all due respect’. I only use it when I feel I need to make people understand that that is what I really mean. Tommy Boyd says (I think it is him), that using it at all shows a complete lack of respect.

    Please note I went for the argument, and did not pass judgment on a person or adopt a position towards a person. I don’t know who runs Facebook or what financial or other support they receive to do so, exactly what commercial organ they get their support from. It seems to me it must be a commercial interest to someone.

    ‘Shut Up. It’s Free.’ Has quite an aggressive feel to it, for most readers, I think. And I get the impression from a little reading that for Michelle to sum up her feelings with ‘exactly’ in that way is a bit dismissive. Almost chavvy and thuggish. I’m commenting on the style employed, not on the person. If she is aggressively anti-Christian that might explain it, if she’s read my blog. She did trackback to it, I’m not sure what that entails.

    I’m sorry, Michelle, I’m extremely tired, I’ve just had a strange experience in a strange country as a single woman in a shop. Read my latest entry if you like. Maybe this is a bit reactionary, but I felt I needed to stand up for myself.

  5. December 21, 2010 4:59 pm

    Andrew, your use of word positioning is interesting to me. Are you calling me viral and telling me to shut up? What is viral? Like a virus, I suppose.

  6. Michele permalink*
    December 21, 2010 6:19 pm

    Sue — The trackback is you linking to my blog and not the other way around.

  7. Michele permalink*
    December 21, 2010 6:20 pm

    And viral means that it links to and connects a lot of people quickly as in “spreading like a virus.”

Trackbacks

  1. Shut up. It’s free. (via Because No One Asked) « Thoughts and Observations of a Certified Nut!

Leave a Reply

