Skip to content

TSA Backlash: Is flying worth it?

November 16, 2010

Last month, I travelled to Tucson with a connection in Denver.  Saskatoon has one of the new security scanners but I wasn’t sent for secondary screening here.  In Denver, I randomly selected a line and unfortunately everyone in that security line had to go through the full body scanner.  At the time, I was unprepared for the extra screening, I wasn’t offered an option and I just wanted to make my connecting flight so I simply did as I was told.  The uncomfortable feeling came later.

I thought that the scanner was to be used for secondary screening only but that is obviously not true.  Even if it were, this makes no sense.

Why should I have to submit to what is essentially the same type of search used on criminals?  According to an expert, “It’s a better way to frisk, but we’re now subjecting the general public to the same frisking that police use with probable cause.

I concur with Josh Rosenau from Science Blogs who said “I’m not a criminal. There’s no probable cause to search me.

There are many, many stories on the internet about people who were subjected to the invasive frisking after opting out of the new scanner.  And have you seen the video with a small child being frisked?  How is this necessary without probable cause?!

So much money and time and energy spent treating travellers like criminals.  When will we start actually trying to identify probably terrorists and subjecting THEM to secondary searches instead of just random people?

I’m glad that I don’t have any travel plans for a few months so that I have time to think about all of this.  I don’t want to be frisked and I certainly don’t want to subject my children to these invasive searches.

Are you planning to travel soon?  What will you do?

Maybe wearing a hijab would help?.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 7:48 pm

    SO not worth it. If I have to go somewhere, I’ll drive or take the train.

  2. Michele permalink*
    November 16, 2010 9:29 pm

    So frustrating. We’re taking a driving trip next year but I’m also planning a trip to Tucson.

    Driving from Saskatoon to Tucson is a 60+ hour round trip. Not possible during a one week vacation with me as the sole driver. I guess that we could hop on a bus but that’s not attractive either.

  3. November 17, 2010 8:18 am

    I see what you mean – for a one week vacation, you’d burn up half your week just on travel time even if you somehow drove straight through or took the train. If it’s family you’re visiting, can you get them to meet you halfway so no one needs to fly?

    One the one hand, I think I’m being a drama queen about this – a taxpayer-sponsored groping is by far not the worst crime I will have suffered. I went through something sufficiently severe that I have PTSD from it. It cost my first husband his life. But that’s really why I just can’t do it. I HATE being touched – I rarely even hug people unless they’re blood relatives or longtime friends. So the idea of some stranger touching my crotch against my will – [insert Darth Vader NOOOOOOOoooooo! here] I would do pretty much anything to avoid it.

  4. Michele permalink*
    November 17, 2010 4:34 pm

    Would you be okay with the full body scanner?

  5. November 17, 2010 4:42 pm

    Oh *hell* no. I’m NOT okay with an electronic strip search. I feel less strong about that than the gropeathon, but still extremely opposed.

  6. crazybengal permalink*
    November 19, 2010 7:59 am

    The full body scanner would not have picked up the diaper bomber’s explosives. Random grope will not be done on everyone so they could still miss someone packing stuff around their genitals. What would work?? Profiling. The diaper bomber had the heavily pigmented spot on his forehead that is caused by zealously rubbing your forehead into a rug five times a day. Look people in the eye – watch how people walk. Ask them casual questions and see if they squirm. Gawker posted 100 photos of TSA scans found on line. They do not delete and they do store the images. Janet Incompitano needs to go. Train the TSA agents like the Israeli’s train their security people. Fire all muslims (you will never know where their loyalties lie and they can be blackmailed by their own community) and convicts working for TSA. And maybe, don’t fly until they fix things…sadly. But it might force their hand if they lose enough money…the radiation risk of the scan is documented by Johns Hopkins. So – expose your kids to radiation or have them groped??

  7. crazybengal permalink*
    November 19, 2010 8:36 am

    Hmmm – there needs to be a revolt. What is happening all over the US?? People are walking like lambs to the slaughter – too surprised to protest and too shocked to be angry. Sheeple. Drank the Kool Aid.
    http://www.wbtv.com/Global/story.asp?S=13534628

    People need to get up and say that they are as mad as hell and they are not going to take this anymore!!

Leave a Reply

