Skip to content

Prayer as an insured benefit?

October 29, 2010

As if it’s not bad enough that SK Blue Cross coverage includes naturopathy and homeopathy, you can actually be reimbursed for the services of “Christian Science Practitioners.”

What a scam.  They get paid to pray.

And anyone who has this insurance policy is helping to pay for it.

I misread “oculist” as “occultist” so I’m happy to say that they won’t pay for occult services.  Although, if Christian Science prayers are covered, why not?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2010 4:17 pm

    Why don’t you check out the system for paying aboriginal chaplains and their assistants at SIAST to help Aboriginal students pray before examinations. You might also want to check out whether the Government is directly or indirectly paying for any sweet grass ceremonies.

    I under the position you are taking occurs naturally under the USA constitution. However, we are less judgmental about this sort of thing in Canada.

  2. Michele permalink*
    November 1, 2010 1:09 am

    I had no idea that type of program even existed. Paid to pray for exams? I thought that most students just naturally prayed before starting an exam. I will have to look into that.

    I’ve mentioned before that the public schools speak about keeping religion out of the schools in order to not discriminate against anyone. A position which I wholeheartedly support. However, they do facilitate and support round dances and similar First Nations ceremonies which are religious. They are cultural as well but definitely religious.

    Thankfully, I’ve found that not all people are less judgmental about such things in Canada.

    Honestly, I don’t care if people want to pay someone to pray for them but I do not think that health insurance should cover such pseudoscience “treatments.”

  3. Curtis permalink
    November 1, 2010 5:55 pm

    Hey Michele –
    Maybe you could reconsider your position a little bit. I am a Christian Science practitioner. I am a well-trained, experienced health care provider, who devotes his whole life to relieving people’s suffering, and who also needs to buy food and keep a roof over his head. Hundreds have utilized my prayer-based form of treatment, and they have found much healing from almost every kind of ailment and have been saved when they could find no other help or when drug-based systems left too many side-effects. And of these people, those who have over the years put their hard-earned money into an insurance program simply want they’ve paid for. I’m sure you and I agree that laws should be fair.

  4. Michele permalink*
    November 1, 2010 6:35 pm

    Prayer is not healthcare.

Leave a Reply

