Skip to content

This is not a restaurant.

September 21, 2010

If I invite someone to have dinner at our home, am I obliged to fulfill their every dietary whim?

Obviously, I’ll adjust the menu for someone with a food allergy.  That’s usually simple although multiple allergies could prove impossible.  What if the invited guest is a vegetarian?  Again, that’s easy since my daughter is a vegetarian.  I can cook vegetarian dishes but meat will be served as well and I am not accommodating a vegan.   That’s simply not happening here.

What about religious dietary rules?

What would you say if you invited a Muslim for supper and they informed you that they only eat halal meat?  I don’t want to pay extra for halal meat and I don’t want to make a special trip for halal meat.  They should just refuse the invitation or simply don’t eat the meat.  I don’t want to play along with someone else’s religious rules.  If I wanted holy hoops to jump through, I would get my own.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. afshana permalink
    September 24, 2010 4:41 pm

    “What would you say if you invited a Muslim for supper and they informed you that they only eat halal meat?” Well I would just eat the vegetables and not expect halal meat to be served.

    • Michele permalink*
      September 25, 2010 12:22 am

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

