Skip to content

We need to separate politics from religion. Fast.

August 29, 2010

Crap.

Glenn Beck had his huge rally in Washington, DC this weekend.  Although the rally was to “Restore Honor” and was ostensibly non-political, it was actually quite politically focused with a major Tea Party presence.  I wish that I could have been at the rally.  It’s the focus on religion that bothers me, especially the Friday night “Divine Destiny” event.

According to USA Today,

And Beck called on his audience to rely on God’s guidance:

My message to you tonight is stand where He wants you to stand and trust in the Lord. If He tells you to do it, do it. If you can’t figure it out, He will. Just do it.”

Ugh.  Can’t we be conservative without being Conservative Christian?

This November is going to be interesting.  What will the Republican Party look like after the election?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Connie permalink
    August 30, 2010 7:58 pm

    I have to agree with you. I listen to Glenn Beck on my breaks at work and have turned him off many times in the past month because I could have heard the same thing if I had gone to church on Sunday. I don’t want to spend my time being preached at and told how to behave by a radio talk show host. I want to hear what’s going on in my country and who did what and where. If I want to hear a sermon I will go to church on Sunday. I turned Glenn Beck off today after 4 minutes of listening to him preach to me how I should take God into my life on a daily basis and get down I my knees and pray. CLICK! I listened to WHO radio to hear the local scoop on politics.

Leave a Reply

