Skip to content

Children’s tickets are full-price.

August 29, 2010

So they shouldn’t be relegated to a “family-only” section of airplanes.  What if all of the “family seats” are sold?  Would I be unable to purchase tickets for my children?

That is just stupid.  And all of those childless travelers who think otherwise can stuff it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 5:02 pm

    I’m a parent too (albeit my daughter is grown and married now) and I’ve been a business traveler, so I empathize with pretty much everyone concerned. I have the impression from reading your blog that you are the sort of person who takes good care of her children, teaches them manners and provides discipline and adequate supervision. Sadly, that’s absolutely not true of a whole lot of people, most of whom have been seated directly behind me on long flights. (Well, this probably *feels* truer than it really is…)

    While it isn’t fair that sheer demographics should cause you to be punished for the sins of others, it’s equally unfair that other passengers who have paid full price have a miserable, stressful flight because Momma’s Little Angel refuses to stop screaming, etc. I’ve been on flights where the “Parent of the Year” cranks up her iPod and studiously ignores her squalling three year old as he unrhythmically kicks my seat and throws his toys at other passengers. If I had my druthers, I’d have flights where families were preboarded to the back of the plane, where every seat was equipped with a built in video player, and a restroom with a changing table.

  2. Michele permalink*
    September 3, 2010 5:28 pm

    I do understand. However, if all families are going to be relegated to a second class status, then fares should be reduced accordingly.

    Maybe airlines should have a policy where unruly, disruptive passengers of any age can be banned from air travel for some amount of time.

    Now that I think about it, we are almost always placed in the back of the plane when travelling with children and we’re often surrounded by other families. Maybe Delta and United already have unpublicized family seating policies? They could do this on international flights because we have to provide birth dates for all travellers.

    I actually like being in the back of the plane … closer to the bathroom.

Leave a Reply

