Skip to content

What is your doctor’s religion?

August 26, 2010

Have you ever thought to ask?  I haven’t but I should.

A recent study found that religion (or lack thereof) is associated with the treatment options offered by a doctor.  That makes sense.  A doctor’s personal ethics affects his professional behavior whether those ethics have a religious basis or not.

This reminds me — it is Ramadan.  Many Muslims are currently fasting from sunrise to sunset.  If you’re in Canada, this means going without food and water (!) for approximately 16 hours.  So, if you are seeing a Muslim doctor in the late afternoon or evening, that doctor’s performance could be affected by lack of nourishment and fluids.  Is this safe?  I’ve been told by Muslims who are fasting that they can’t think straight by the afternoon.  Not exactly something that I would want to hear from my doctor.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. muslima permalink
    August 27, 2010 10:45 am

    likewise i would not trust a Jewish doctor!!!

  2. Michele permalink*
    August 27, 2010 2:11 pm

    Why would you not trust a Jewish doctor?

    I’ve had Muslim doctors and dentists. I just don’t want them treating me or my family after they’ve been fasting for six or more hours. Better safe than sorry.

  3. muslima permalink
    August 28, 2010 2:24 pm

    have YOU ever tried fasting? my guess is you haven’t…so how can you judge how fasting will effect a person physically and mentally…i fasted and worked in a preschool which is a very demanding job and i did my job as well as on the days i wasn’t fasting

  4. Michele permalink*
    August 28, 2010 4:54 pm

    A Muslim man who has fasted for Ramadan his entire adult life told me that he could barely think straight in the afternoon especially when fasting in the summer. I believe him.

    And I have fasted. I would never choose to do it while attempting challenging work.

    Are you seriously comparing working in a preschool to being a doctor?

  5. muslima permalink
    August 28, 2010 6:39 pm

    tell me, how and why did you fast…and no i was not comparing the two but as i was trained to be a preschool teacher and did my job pretty well even while i was fasting, why wouldn’t a doctor be able to do the same…he /she would have fasted during the time he/she was studying to be doctor…don’t take one man’s word for it, go talk to Muslims in Saskatoon and in order for you to come to a reasonable conclusion do not talk to a few people…ask as many as you can…carry out a survey and THEN conclude…

  6. Michele permalink*
    August 28, 2010 6:55 pm

    It was a Muslim man in Saskatoon who volunteered his self-appraisal of fuzzy thinking by mid-afternoon.

    Also, I’ve personally witnessed the negative effects of fasting.

  7. muslima permalink
    August 29, 2010 9:08 am

    you didn’t answer my question…as far that man is concerned you are willing to take his word for it…maybe his thinking is fuzzy fast or no fast…like i said ask MORE THAN ONE PERSON in order to come to a conclusion…and as for you witnessing the negative effects of fasting maybe it is just you!

Leave a Reply

