Skip to content

Cheers.

August 26, 2010

I’m having a vodka gimlet.  I’ve wanted one for quite awhile but the bars here in Saskatoon cannot make a good gimlet for two reasons.  First, they have no idea what a gimlet is.  Seriously.  Second, they don’t have Rose’s Lime Juice.  They only have “bar lime” which is basically thick, lime Kool-Aid.  Yuck.  Kool-Aid plus vodka is like cheap punch from a college party.

Google to the rescue.

The Bar Project has the recipe and directions for making the perfect vodka gimlet.  Unfortunately, I also don’t have any Rose’s Lime Juice.  It’s added to the shopping list but, in the meantime, The Drinks Mixer has a very simple recipe which has worked out quite nicely.

1 1/2 oz. vodka + 1 oz. lime juice + 1 t. powdered sugar

Excellent.

As a bonus, a couple of people in the comments on The Bar Project mentioned a recipe from Stuart Woods’ book “Shoot him if he runs.”  I’m going to put this together tomorrow so that vodka gimlets are available on demand.

“Pour six ounces out of a fifth of vodka, replace it with Rose’s sweetened lime juice, and put it in the freezer until it hurts to hold the bottle. If you make it in a cocktail shaker, you just water it down.”

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Luci permalink
    July 12, 2013 3:12 pm

    Hi, Is powdered sugar also called confectioners or is it “veryfine” Thanks.

  2. June 26, 2014 4:52 pm

    It is not my first time to pay a visit this web page, i am browsing this web site
    dailly and get good data from here every day.

  3. August 12, 2014 12:36 am

    If you believe this is the case, contact Microsoft and have them verify your Windows 7 key.
    Erik van den Dolder, a blond with a receeding forehead likes to attend the Airbus-meetings in his Harley
    Davidson, and speaks English and German with a soft Dutch
    accent, said that he was working with Samuel in the same US firm and
    both were unhappy about the US products because they were old, not innovative, despite the fact that there was a big European market out there, waiting to be conquered.
    If you are having problems copying the contents of the DVD to a
    local disk, either the disk is not readable or the lens of DVD drive needs cleaning.

  4. August 13, 2014 2:25 pm

    Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and everything.
    But think of if you added some great images or videos to
    give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and videos,
    this blog could undeniably be one of the very best in its field.
    Amazing blog!

  5. August 14, 2014 6:36 pm

    Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thanks, However I
    am encountering troubles with your RSS. I don’t know the reason why I can’t subscribe to it.

    Is there anyone else having similar RSS issues? Anyone who knows the solution will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  6. August 14, 2014 9:55 pm

    Hurrah! At last I got a web site from where I can truly get
    helpful data regarding my study and knowledge.

  7. August 15, 2014 11:07 am

    Hello! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if
    that would be ok. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  8. August 23, 2014 7:29 am

    Whhen somwone writes an post he/she keeps the image of
    a user in his/her brain that how a user can know it. Therefore that’s
    why this post is great. Thanks!

  9. August 27, 2014 3:10 am

    Hello, I think your blog might be having browserr compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Opera, it looks fine
    but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted too give you a quikck heads up!
    Other then that, superb blog!

  10. August 28, 2014 7:05 pm

    We absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    Do you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write
    regarding here. Again, awesome web site!

  11. September 5, 2014 1:55 pm

    It is truly a great and useful piece of information. I’m glad that you juust shared this uuseful information with us.
    Please stay us informed like this. Thannk you for sharing.

  12. September 10, 2014 1:35 pm

    I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom doo I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have
    hit the nail on the head. The issue is ann issue that
    not enough folks are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy that I found this in my search for something concerning this.

  13. September 14, 2014 8:11 pm

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come backk to read
    more of you useful info. Thanks foor tthe post. I’ll definitely return.

  14. September 23, 2014 3:33 am

    Hello there I am so delighted I found your webpage, I really found you by error, while I was looking on Askjeeve for
    something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like
    to say thanks a lot for a incredible post and a all round
    enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read
    it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep
    up the great work.

  15. September 23, 2014 1:47 pm

    These arre actuslly enormous ideas in on the tpic of blogging.
    You have touched some pleasant points here. Any way kesep up wrinting.

  16. December 16, 2014 4:35 am

    Nevertheless, if it doesn’t matter to you in this regard, rabbit fur
    is an excellent fur to consider when it comes to boots fashion. The Easyboot Trail model is a great boot
    for slow journeys (preferably a walk) on relatively level footing.
    She did the same thing again in 2003 and 2005 with
    the Classic Boots and the Uptown Boots, and they both immediately became
    a ‘must have’ item for Americans.

  17. January 16, 2015 4:38 am

    Modern-day home windows are an easy way to increase the look of
    the house and save money on the power costs as well.
    They give your home personality, and they act
    as a conduit of visual information to and from the outside world.
    – If window contractors were to replace windows only during the spring
    or summer, wouldn’t they go out of business in the
    remaining seasons.

  18. February 14, 2015 7:56 am

    I got this website from my pal who shared with me on the topic of
    this web site and at the moment this time I am browsing this website and reading very
    informative content at this place.

  19. July 28, 2015 10:41 pm

    Hi, i think that i noticed you visited my weblog thus i got here
    to go back the desire?.I am trying to find issues to enhance my web
    site!I suppose its good enough to use some of your concepts!!

Leave a Reply

