Skip to content

CYA Prayer?

July 5, 2010

Blogger Scaramouche suggests that Christopher Hitchens, who has cancer, should start praying just in case.  As an atheist, to whom should he pray?  Which god should he pretend to talk to and which religious text should he pretend to follow?

Personally, I have never understood this idea that I should hedge my bets and act as if there is a God.  Do you honestly believe that your god wants to be humored?  What kind of god wants to be fake worshiped?  Would an omnipotent, omniscient god even fall for that?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 9:44 am

    The act of praying simply because you are in a tough predicament is a little sleazy, I think. I mean, it’s selfish.

    Hell, I’m not a believer anyway, but I’m just saying. There are so many nominal fuckers out there.

Leave a Reply

