Skip to content

What a rip-off.

June 27, 2010

Room service is such a racket.  When I travel alone, I don’t like to go out at night.  This is especially true the first night in a new city when I have no idea where restaurants and stores are located.  Sometimes I succumb to the temptation of room service.  I convince myself that it’s worth the cost for one meal, for the convenience.  Then I see the bill.

First, the food is insanely over-priced.  Eight dollars for juice?  Really?

Then, they charge a room service fee of $4 to $5.

Then, they add an 18% gratuity automatically.

And then, to add insult to injury, they leave a spot for you to add a tip.  A tip?!  On top of the gratuity?  After I’ve already paid a fee to have the food delivered?  In addition to the premium price for each and every item?

So crazy.  It would be cheaper to pick up a sandwich before I leave the airport.

And then there are the prices at the gift shop — movie theater prices without the movie.

I’m glad to be home.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

