Skip to content

I need a new shampoo.

June 10, 2010

I really like Lush solid shampoos.  They work well, last a long time, and I don’t have plastic bottles to throw out.

Lush is an environmentally friendly environutty company.  In fact, they are so against animal testing that they won’t even contribute to health related charities that might possibly fund research using animals.  The products are organic, some even vegan, and they don’t use preservatives.  Whatever.  I like the products enough that I just ignore the eco messages on their packaging and in their newsletter.  Or I have so far.

Now, Lush is actively campaigning against the Alberta Oil Sands.  (The photo and the article linked are from the StarPhoenix.)  WTF.  Would you want to buy bath products from this woman?  I think that she’s yelling at mall customers.  I don’t want to face this to shop.  More importantly, I don’t want to support this in any way.  Where do these women think the oil will come from?  Lush sells products online which are flown to Saskatoon in an airplane and then driven to my house in a gasoline powered vehicle.  In fact, almost all of the products that you see behind these “protesters” were made in Vancouver.  Did someone pull a trailer behind a bicycle to make the deliver?  Hypocrites.

This is from the Lush.ca homepage.

Lovely.  I just noticed the “Proud supplier of Unites States oil” sticker.  Oh no!  Not oil for the United States!  How horrible!

Seriously.  I’m done with this company.  Can anyone recommend a good shampoo?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 8:39 pm

    You know, the banner showing the tar sands is an interesting demonstration of perspective in advertising to me. Obviously, the image was selected to portray a negative message but I look at that picture and genuinely feel very positive about it. I see jobs and even the anti-American sarcastic tone indicates trade and economic growth to me.

    In short, though the image was chosen to convey a negative feeling, it really is an uplifting one in my mind.

    As for a product reccomendation…well not only am I guy and a trucker, but I often work with constructions crews as well. So I dunno…sand? Seriously, I’m lost on that one.

  2. Michele permalink*
    June 11, 2010 8:48 pm

    I actually have a bar of soap which has sand in it. Unfortunately, it’s from Lush.

    I agree with the positive message. The banner says to me “Lush wants to stop progress. Don’t shop at Lush. Crazy women will yell at you.”

Leave a Reply

