Skip to content

Sneaky Packaging

May 22, 2010

First, the soda companies switched the packaging of a 12-pack from a 3X4 box to a 2X6 box and called it a “refrigerator pack”.  This seemed like a good idea since the box does fit well in the refrigerator.  Okay so far.

However, perhaps they were just thinking ahead to a time when they could switch to a 10-pack of cans without us noticing?

This is what I saw at the store last week:

A 10-pack of soda.  I vaguely remember seeing this before but then they seem to have disappeared.  Is this another attempt at a previously failed experiment?  Has anyone else seen these?

I’ll have to start paying closer attention to how much I’m buying.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    May 23, 2010 10:14 pm

    I have noticed that the packaging looks the same on most products. If you look closely the weight on the package has changed. You are getting less for the same price as before. This is true for just about everything. I have been checking the products I buy at the store. The ultimate insult was a few weeks ago when I purchased Oreo cookies. Same packaging, fewer ounces, smaller cookie and there was almost NO frosting in the middle. I’m not the only one that noticed. My son took one bite and said “What’s wrong with this cookie?”

    I quit buying cookies which is a big deal at my house because I always buy cookies. I’m thinking of whipping up a batch of homemade cookies for my cookie jar.

  2. Michele permalink*
    May 24, 2010 12:38 am

    Watch out for ice cream, too.

    Breyer’s used to be 2L here and now they are 1.89L. The top of the package is the same size but now the sides taper to the bottom instead of being strait. The package looks almost the same but not quite.

  3. Rob Huck permalink
    May 24, 2010 11:09 am

    I’m more shocked to see that Fanta is still sold in stores.

  4. Michele permalink*
    May 24, 2010 2:29 pm

    Good point.

    And it’s made with REAL FRUIT! Totally worth paying for fewer cans.

  5. Scott Down permalink
    May 31, 2010 10:45 am

    Hooray for Capitalism!

Leave a Reply

