Skip to content

A Quote and A Lesson

April 27, 2010

I was reading a description on amazon.com for the book “How We Decide” by Jonah Lehrer.  (Even though I don’t need any more books, I can’t resist.)  The listing includes a Q & A with the author including the following anecdote:

I was about halfway through writing the book when I got some great advice from a scientist. I was telling him about my Cheerios dilemma when he abruptly interrupted me: “The secret to happiness,” he said,”is not wasting time on irrelevant decisions.” Of course, this sage advice didn’t help me figure out what kind of cereal I actually wanted to eat for breakfast. So I did the only logical thing: I bought my three favorite Cheerios varieties and combined them all in my cereal bowl. Problem solved.

I need to remember to focus on what is important.

I also want to do “Better” as explained by Merlin Mann in the linked essay.

Wish me luck.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

