Skip to content

Head coverings mandatory?

April 18, 2010

Saskatoon students visited Agudas Israel to meet Regine Frankel, a Holocaust survivor, and to hear her story.  I would certainly call this a very worthwhile and educational field trip for these students.  However …

Can anyone explain why all of the male students are wearing yarmulkes?

I know that this wasn’t a religious service because I’m certain that public school students wouldn’t be forced to attend a religious ceremony.  I also know that it’s now not mandatory for non-Jews who visit the synagogue to wear a yarmulke because I’ve been there during Folk Fest.

Students should never be expected to don religious symbols of any kind.  Ever.

Let this serve as a warning to keep the hijabs away from my daughters.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 10:58 am

    Oh, I don’t know… I can see the synagogue requiring head coverings. It’s their property, and they should be able to set the rules on it. Students who don’t want to comply should be permitted to skip the field trip without prejudice. Schools who very sensibly want to avoid the issue could offer another venue for the speaker – have the talk in an auditorium or after lunch in the school cafeteria, for example. Or have the speaker videotape themselves.

  2. Michele permalink*
    April 19, 2010 2:12 pm

    The point is that they don’t require head coverings. I’ve been in the same space that this presentation was held and no men wore any head coverings during one visit and only a couple of Jewish men wore yarmulkes at the other event.

    I also spoke to my friend today who was a member of that synagogue. Head coverings are only mandatory on the platform (don’t remember the correct word) at the end of the synagogue where the Torah is located.

  3. April 20, 2010 7:22 am

    Oh then if they don’t require head coverings generally, then I agree, it was completely out of bounds if they required it of the students. Your post says, “I also know that it’s now mandatory for non-Jews who visit the synagogue to wear a yarmulke” – now should be not?

  4. Michele permalink*
    April 20, 2010 8:37 am

    Yes. Thanks. I’ll make the correction.

  5. afshana permalink
    September 29, 2010 3:52 am

    You write about Saskatoon students visiting Agudas Israel and then from no where you bring the hijab into it (keep the hijabs away from my daughters)!!! Well if you want to keep the hijabs away from your daughters tell your daughters to stay away from the hijabs!!!

  6. crazybengal permalink*
    September 29, 2010 6:25 am

    I can guarantee that this is the MOST FUN person at the party!

Leave a Reply

