Skip to content

Spring Purge

April 17, 2010

I’ve decided that we must have a garage sale.  I hate garage sales.  I hate chatting with strangers and I hate when people don’t say anything.  I hate pricing items before the sale and I hate bartering during the sale.  So why am I having a garage sale?  We’re having one because we have entirely too much stuff and I just can’t bring myself to give any more away.  The items still have value so I’d rather sell them.  Actually, I’d rather that someone else sell them but that’s not going to happen.  I’m also trying to encourage the children to get rid of toys and books that they’ve outgrown.  If they won’t give stuff away, maybe they will sell it.

I’m a bit shocked at how easy it was to fill boxes with items that we just aren’t using.  How did we end up with so much stuff?  Where did it all come from?

Have you watched Hoarders?  It’s frightening.  I think that TLC makes a fortune on shows that reassure people with “at least you’re not that bad”.

Enough rambling.  Here’s George Carlin talking about stuff:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 6:05 pm

    You should just Kijiji it. People will barter and be idiots, but at least its via email so there is likely less chance of physical violence and pissing off your neighbours, ha.

    • Michele permalink*
      April 17, 2010 9:09 pm

      There’s just too much.

      I’m going to do a one day garage sale.

      Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

