Skip to content

Am I a member of “an identifiable group”?

March 23, 2010

I think so.

Five Feet of Fury is suggesting that Ann Coulter could argue that she is a member of “an identifiable group” and file a human rights complaint.  Which group?  Americans.

I just watched a segment on CBC about anti-American bias.  Friends have politely suggested that I’m delusional when I’ve noted such a bias.  These are, of course, Canadian friends who don’t see the bias that I do.  Most Canadians who call something “American-style” do so to imply that the thing is bad.  American-style healthcare?  Bad.  (Although maybe not now.)  American-style fast food?  Bad.  American-style movies?  Bad.

The CBC news segment showed a Canadian university class being asked if they think that Canada is better than the US.  At least 90% of the students agreed.  Why?  This is really funny.  Because Americans are arrogant.  Heh.  They didn’t even see the irony.  Canadians are better than Americans because Americans are arrogant?

People who find out that I’m an American who lives in Canada assume that I must be a Democrat.  Some even think that I might have moved here because I didn’t like President Bush.  I’m tired of hearing anti-American sentiment.

I don’t agree with everything that Ann Coulter says but she certainly should have been allowed to say it.  She should have been able to speak her mind at a university.  She was prevented from speaking by the threat of violence.

That doesn’t seem very Canadian.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Scott Down permalink
    April 13, 2010 12:07 pm

    Yeah, I’m with you.

    I disagree with a lot of what Ann Coulter has to say, but she ought to be free to say it! If I don’t want to hear it, I don’t have to listen.

    And for the record, every American I’ve ever met is about the nicest person I’ve ever met. I frequently wish that Canadians would offer more “American-style” friendliness. I wish we were better at celebrating the beauty and wonder of our cousins. Sorry about that.

Leave a Reply

