Skip to content

Why is the speed limit 50 km/h …

March 21, 2010

if I have to drive 57 km/h to make all of the lights?

Is this intentional?

If I drive over the speed limit on 8th Street in Saskatoon, I can make almost all of the lights (provided no one is blocking me).  If I drive the speed limit, I will have to stop at every major intersection.

Who did this?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 5:30 pm

    Have you tried driving in the neighbourhood of 46 Kilometres per hour? You know it’s the speed limit right?

    • Michele permalink*
      March 23, 2010 7:16 pm

      If I drive below the speed limit, then I am impeding traffic and I’ll hit every red light.

  2. March 23, 2010 7:20 pm

    Ah no. In fact, if you keep to a speed that ensures you will hit every green light, you will be promoting the flow of traffic.

    when I was being trained to drive trucks, I was told an interesting secret. Unfortunately, I don’t remember the exact speed but it was below the speed limit and if you could keep it constant, you would hit every green light on 8th street. I tried it out with the instructor sitting in the seat beside me and low and behold, I made it all the way to Broadway from Circle Drive before hitting a red. I believe the speed was supposed to be 48 KPH. As i say though, i can’t remember exactly, just that it was slightly below the limit.

    Of course, this might not work well in rush hour but it surely would if every one wasn’t trying to hit 55.

  3. Michele permalink*
    March 23, 2010 7:30 pm

    I’ll try it but it’s not intuitive that going 48 or 57 km/h would both result in making all of the lights.

    And it still doesn’t explain why the lights aren’t timed for the actual speed limit.

  4. March 23, 2010 7:32 pm

    I would assume that the lights aren’t timed for the actual limit because no one actually travels the actual limit and the timing is an attempt to time them in sync with realistic speeds.

  5. Scott Down permalink
    April 13, 2010 12:09 pm

    You’d figure they could get them all green in one direction, anyway…

Leave a Reply

