Skip to content

“Just because it’s historic doesn’t mean it’s good.”

March 21, 2010

So said Rep. Peter Roskam, R-Ill. and I agree.

The House passed the “Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act”.

Actually, they passed the Senate version of the bill but then they are going to start passing “fixes” to the bill under the assumption that the Senate will then pass the fixes.  It remains to be seen if everything passes as the Democrats and the President assume.

I’m saddened and sickened by this bill and the way it has come through Congress.  I’ve been reading and listening and thinking about it for weeks but I keep running into points where I just can’t fathom how any sane person could actually support this bill.  The Act requires everyone to buy health insurance.  How is this any business of the government?  If I choose to not spend my money on insurance, that is my choice and my right to assume that risk for myself.  The act also requires insurance companies to insure everyone regardless of pre-existing conditions.  The government is requiring a business to sell insurance to someone whom they KNOW will make claims against that insurance.

Can you guess what is going to happen to insurance premiums?  They are going to go up, up, up.  Taxes will go up.  Government expenditures will go up.

Nancy Pelosi actually asserted that health insurance is a right, not a privilege.  Since when?

I’m just stunned.

Ann Coulter has a much simpler plan which uses a huge dose of common sense (something sorely lacking in Washington).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

