Skip to content

Life and Fiction

March 10, 2010

I just finished “Hidden Empire”  by Orson Scott Card, the sequel to “Empire”.  I should probably write a book review but that will have to wait for another day.  You can just safely assume that any book by Card will be worth reading.

Today I was struck by how occurrences in the book were reflected in the news.

Two examples:

Muslim herdsmen attacked Christian villages in Nigeria.  They used techniques for hunting wild game to massacre hundreds of victims.

Monkeys in a British safari park have Simian B herpes. The virus is fatal for humans.

Anyone know of real versions of Bones and Noodles?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michele permalink*
    August 11, 2010 10:44 pm

    I know!

    My husband told me about the exoskeleton a couple of weeks ago and I responded, “Yeah. Orson Scott Card had those in “Hidden Empire.” So cool.

Leave a Reply

