Skip to content

Recycled News

March 8, 2010

I know that the Saskatoon StarPhoenix is in financial trouble (as are all the CanWest papers) but do they have to actually recycle news to fill out the paper?

I had a strong sense of deja vu yesterday.  While reading the Weekend Extra section, I checked to make sure that I hadn’t picked up an old copy of the paper.

Published on February 20, 2010:

Soldier eager to get back to battle

By Andrew Duffy, Canwest News Service

Published on March 6, 2010:

Milestones long road back

By Andrew Duffy, Canwest News Service

The second is simply an extended version of the first … an extra sentence here, a few more photos there, more of his wife’s story.

I don’t subscribe to a daily paper to read the same news more than once.  It was bad enough when I also received the National Post and both papers would use the same CanWest stories.  I don’t expect to have it happen in the same paper.  Did they think that no one would notice?  Am I the only person who actually reads almost the entire paper from front to back?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

