Skip to content

Nuts on a Plane

January 7, 2010

Oh, great.

Air Canada has to create “nut-free” buffer zones around people with nut allergies.  I don’t share my snacks with strangers so why should it matter what I’m eating on the plane?  Some schools just have students with allergies eat at a different table with no difficulty.

Northwest has a three-row zone where they won’t serve nuts but they won’t stop people from eating what they have with them.

I wonder if I can request to be moved away from the nut-allergic person so that I can enjoy my PBJ in peace.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. heidi permalink
    January 12, 2010 8:56 am

    I don’t usually leave responses no matter how much i want to, but I just have to know why there seems to be so much animosity towards people who have nut allergies? I get the fact that nut free areas on a plane is a hassle and fun to joke about. If I was living a different life where I didn’t have to worry about my kid dying from eating nuts I might feel the same way. But, I am not. Your comments if he was old enough to understand them would probably make him feel like there is something wrong with him. So of course request to be “moved away” from the cazy nut allergic person if you must, but just know none of us asked to have food allergies

  2. Michele permalink*
    January 12, 2010 10:27 am

    The animosity isn’t towards the people with allergies.

    The animosity is towards extreme limitations imposed on everyone without an allergy. People with a food allergy have to consume the food to have a reaction. So why do schools need to be completely nut free? My children aren’t even allowed to bring a candy bar which “might contain trace nuts”. That’s insane! How can a nut-allergic person be hurt by my daughter consuming that candy bar?

    I’m waiting for the day when I’m only allowed to eat nuts in my own home.

Leave a Reply

