Skip to content

Pass the chocolate milk.

December 13, 2009

What is the big fuss over children having chocolate milk?  “Milk Skirmishes” in Maclean’s is the latest article that I’ve read on the topic.  The dairy industry is promoting it, obviously, and nutritionists are panning it.

Personally, I don’t like the taste of milk.  According to my mom, I stopped drinking milk when I was still a baby.  I would pitch the bottle right out of the crib and across the room.  The only milk that I would drink was chocolate milk and at school we only had that choice on Fridays.  In addition, I don’t like cheese so basically the only calcium that I consumed as a kid was in chocolate milk.  My daughter wouldn’t drink milk when she was a toddler.  Someone on a parenting forum recommended that I try adding Nestle Strawberry Quik syrup.  Ta da!  She drank the milk.  (Breast milk is sweeter than cow’s milk so the syrup adds a bit of sweetness.)  My theory is that chocolate milk is absolutely better than no milk.

Did you read the Maclean’s article?  The example they give for calorie content in chocolate milk is a bottle of Rolo-flavored milk which is a bit sneaky.  It has 400 calories but that is for a 473 ml bottle.  Cartons of milk at school are only 1 cup or 250 ml.  One cup of Rolo milk would be 211 calories.

The milk sold at school is even less.  In one cup servings, chocolate milk has approximately 160 calories and 25 grams of sugar.  White milk has approximately 100 calories and 11 grams of sugar.  One cup of apple juice has 27 g sugar.  The milk also has 30% of the RDA of calcium and 8 g protein.  To me, chocolate milk is a better, more nutritious choice than apple juice.  It will also be more filling.

I just remembered my friend who would criticize the chocolate milk my children were drinking while her child ate hotdogs every single day.  Seriously.

Now I drink my milk accompanied by vast quantities of coffee.  Yum.

One Comment leave one →
  1. crazybengal permalink*
    December 13, 2009 12:23 pm

    If you make chocolate milk with real cocoa (not dutch processed), you are also adding important flavenoids to the diet. Even commercial chocolate milk is made with cocoa. Heart healthy.

Leave a Reply

