Skip to content

Somebody Else’s Pants Are On Fire…

December 9, 2009

Al Gore answers a question

Q: How damaging to your argument was the disclosure of e-mails from the Climate Research Unit at East Anglia University?

A: To paraphrase Shakespeare, it’s sound and fury signifying nothing. I haven’t read all the e-mails, but the most recent one is more than 10 years old. These private exchanges between these scientists do not in any way cause any question about the scientific consensus.

You LIE! [or at least you didn’t read the emails – anyhoo, the smoking gun is in the code, stupid]

From: Keith Briffa <k.briffa@xxxxxxxxx.xxx>
To: Malcolm Hughes <mhughes@xxxxxxxxx.xxx>
Subject: Re: IN STRICTEST CONFIDENCE
Date: Fri, 02 Oct 2009 17:28:22 +0100
Cc: t.m.melvin@xxxxxxxxx.xxx

<x-flowed>
Malcolm
honestly just a cross thread between Tom and I. I had been asked by
Darrell whether we should use the Sidorova chronology – because of
hassle by you know who – so asked Tom a while ago to ask you. I did
not see your answer – sorry if you cc’d me in as I have not been
checking emails. I fully accept and would NEVER go behind your back
to ask for the data. I understood that the chronology was published
and so thought to compare our RCS version with it if we could produce
it in time . We are being accused of not using that chronology in the
Science paper- so then asked Anders for it. I am happy to send
Darrell the single chronology if that is what Anders has sent. I am
having to start thinking about the Yamal crap and then this Darrell
stuff suddenly arises. I just wanted him to consider including the
Polar Urals reconstruction and the Sidorova series in his analysis
before publishing a correction in Science- apparently the selection
criterion for inclusion of series was anything published north of 60
degrees and longer than 1000 years. I could do without all this now –
don’t really understand what Climate Audit are getting so hysterical
about but feel that I can not ignore it this time – but don’t feel up
to getting involved. I fully admit to being out of the loop as
regards all this and having trouble getting back to it.

To restate – this was a confusion. I fully accept your point (as you
know I would). Sorry if you thought I was doing anything without your
knowledge – TO BE HONEST ALSO – I actually was not really aware that
the data you were producing and that used by Sidorova were one and
the same. Best wishes hopefully all ok
I assume that we are allowed to use the chronolgy as published – are
we? I have not contacted Sidorova. Can you cc answer to Tom as I have
no email at present. (this coming from someone elses computer)
Keith

via Drudge

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

