Skip to content

Grammar Pet Peeve

November 27, 2009

People who say “I am wanting” instead of “I want” make me crazy.   Other versions include “I am needing” and “I am hoping”.

Why do they do this?  Why do I hear this with increasing frequency?  Why?!

 

And why do so many people in Saskatchewan say “I seen” instead of “I saw”?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 2:30 pm

    I belong to a Facebook group called “When you say iI Seen’ it makes me think you are stupid”

  2. Michele permalink*
    December 1, 2009 4:12 pm

    Can I join?

  3. crazybengal permalink*
    December 6, 2009 9:11 am

    They do it here too (AZ)

Leave a Reply

