Skip to content

No More Homework

November 19, 2009

Wow.

 

A family in Calgary has negotiated a no homework policy for their children.  Shelli and Tom Milley are both lawyers which certainly helped them in this quest but I know the vast majority of parents would love to have the same policy for their children.  I know that I would.

 

Actually, I have to admit that homework has not been an issue this year but that simply serves to illustrate the inconsistency between teachers.  One teacher assigns lots of homework and projects which must be completed at home while another teacher assigns no homework at all.  Children in the same grade can have vastly different amounts of homework.

 

My vote is for virtually no homework in early elementary school with some homework in the later grades to prepare for high school.  Even in high school amounts of homework should be minimal, not excessive.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 1minionsopinion permalink
    November 20, 2009 9:55 pm

    I read about that, too. I was impressed. I can’t recall getting much in the way of homework before grade 8 but I suppose school has changed a lot since the ’80s. I don’t have any kids, but I think if these parents can demonstrate that their kids still come out of their courses with the same skills as the ones who’ve lost hours of time poring over text books and repetitive rote memorization, then it’ll speak volumes for how schools assign work.

Leave a Reply

