Skip to content

Proud American

October 31, 2009

George W. Bush was here in Saskatoon about 10 days ago.  I didn’t want to blog about it right away.  I think that I was waiting to see what the response was from Canadians (some is described below).

 

What was my response to seeing and hearing my former President in person?

Pride.  Heart expanding pride.

I am an American and “Dubya” is the President who led our nation after we were attacked.

I voted for him twice and never regretted doing so.

I appreciated the opportunity to hear his side of the story.

 

Did you know that Bush spoke without a teleprompter?  He used notes in a binder.  Did you know that he answered questions for 45 minutes?  He answered the questions, without notes, and he did actually answer the questions which were asked.

I don’t think that our current President could do the same.

*****************************************************

I’ve read the letters to the editor that I expected from those who are anti-Bush.  Those didn’t seem any different from letters written before his visit.

I was heartened by the response of StarPhoenix columnists including Bronwyn Eyre who wrote:

Bush’s honest realism and unneurotic authenticity will probably be accredited by history. Many say his reputation is already being rehabilitated. And most Saskatonians who saw him last week would agree.

I do disagree with her opinion that Bush is too self deprecating.  To me, he was authentic.

 

Anyone who has listened to his show won’t be surprised that John Gormley, who emceed the event, had good things to say.  I enjoyed reading his take on why Bush is misunderstood by so many and how even people who didn’t expect to be were impressed by him.

As people filed out after Bush’s speech there were as many “wows” and glowing adjectives as at a Michael Buble concert — and that’s a lot.

Most telling was the early 20s woman who looked shocked, visibly open-mouthed, as she confessed how confused she was by what she had expected and how impressed she was by the experience.

For those who either admired president Bush throughout his term or thought there was something more substantive underneath the hatchet jobs of Hollywood and the Beltway, vindication is a good word. Things aren’t always as they seem. You were right all along about George W. Bush.

And finally, there was Les MacPherson who reminded me that

Like no one else before or since, George W. Bush drives boohoos into a frothing lather of hatred. He must be doing something right.

….

Bush certainly did not seem stupid on stage at TCU Place. Rather, he was engaging, no less so than Bill Clinton. The difference is that I came away from Clinton feeling comforted. I came away from Bush feeling I’d been called to duty.

That’s what I felt as well.  Thank you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Scott Down permalink
    April 14, 2010 5:30 pm

    I’m down with Dub.

    Just curious, though, why talking with or without a teleprompter is a big deal..?

    Bush would use them at big events, he just chose not to at smaller events (to his credit, I think – you tend to come off as warmer and more personal without them).

    Seems weird to me, is all.

    Anyway, I wish I could have made the talk. I had to pick up tickets for another event that day at TCUP and was entertained by the protesters and the line to see him alike. Glad you enjoyed the show; glad to hear positive response from the media too.

    I really would have liked to see Clinton, too. That was a crazy month for little ol’ Saskatchewan, eh?!

Leave a Reply

