Skip to content

Did she say that out loud?

October 29, 2009

Rachel Marsden has asked the question that I’ve only been thinking.

Why is everything associated with the 2010 Vancouver Winter Olympics centered around First Nations/Inuit/Native/Indian themes?  Or as she puts it,

Who is fighting to ensure that the immigrants of European descent are adequately represented at next year’s Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympic Games?

Has anyone else noticed this?  The logo, the mascots, even the medals … all with native themes.  Does Canada have nothing else to offer culturally?  No other representations?  No other themes?  Nothing??

As you might guess, Rachel Marsden has received a lot of flack.  She was accused of being a racist but then she is white and is commenting on something involving non-whites so of course she’s called a racist.  I’m not surprised at all.

It’s the 2010 guilticulturalism Olympics!  I’m afraid to see the opening ceremony.  I’ll make my prediction now … drummers, round dance, hoop dance, lots of feathers.  Uh oh … how will the liberal guilt laden vegans of Vancouver reconcile the leather costumes of the native performers?

Once again, this find comes via Kathy Shaidle at Five Feet of Fury which should be on your daily read list.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 5:58 pm

    I was in Vancouver at the beginning of the month and EVERYWHERE You go all they have is friggin’ inukshuks. It was unbelievable any “local” art was an inukshuk. I wanted to buy something local and unique but I got sick of seeing that damn pile of rocks everywhere I went.
    I do like the medals though and I’m not a huge fan of native art.

Leave a Reply

