Skip to content

Religion and Politics

October 23, 2009

Nasser Malik is running for Saskatoon Public School District trustee in Ward 8 and I’ve been bothered by something on the campaign flier placed in our mailbox.

His campaign slogan is:

“NATIONS CANNOT BE REFORMED WITHOUT THE REFORMATION OF ITS YOUTH”

My first question is “How does Canada need to be reformed?” and my second thought was about the source of the quote.

Google is my friend.

The quote comes from Hadhrat Mirza Masroor, the fifth khalufa of Ahmadiyya Islam.  Why wasn’t this quote attributed to the proper source on the flyer?

I have a visceral reaction when religious beliefs come into play with politics and education.  I worry about the imposition of beliefs on others.   Morals and ethics and beliefs affect actions and decisions everyday whether those beliefs come from a religious source or not.  This isn’t wrong.  However, the quote above does disturb me because it is a call to action.  A call to reform a nation which doesn’t need reformation.  A call to action from a religious leader.

My children don’t need to be reformed, thanks.

One Comment leave one →
  1. crazybengal permalink*
    October 23, 2009 6:06 pm

    Oh, I REALLY want to vote for him! He sounds like an EXCELLENT candidate!
    [say like this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjMYQyhjiYA ]

    Cause I cannot WAIT for the establishment of the new Islamic Caliphate via the reformation of our youth…

Leave a Reply

