Skip to content

WTF?! A pink newspaper?

October 7, 2009

I thought that I had seen everything imaginable turned pink and co-opted for breast cancer fundraising and awareness.    I was oh so wrong.

This is my NEWSPAPER this morning:

pink paper

I never imagined that they would turn my newspaper PINK!  This is horrible … hard to read … and incredibly annoying.  Did I mention that it’s hard to read?  Ugh.  Please tell me that this is a one time thing.  Please?  Or maybe just the front page?  Please?

I seriously doubt that anyone is unaware of breast cancer.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tahiri permalink
    October 12, 2009 2:27 pm

    Why does prostate cancer never get this much attention? Oh, right. Men dont matter. Equal rights my ass

  2. Michele permalink*
    October 12, 2009 3:32 pm

    Prostate cancer doesn’t get the same because it mostly affects old men and those men don’t talk about it.

    Breast cancer affects relatively younger women, most of them survive it, and they talk about it a lot. Plus … it’s breasts!

    If young men had testicular cancer at the rate that women get breast cancer, I think that it would be a big deal as well.

  3. crazybengal permalink*
    October 12, 2009 5:56 pm

    According to the most recent data, for all men with prostate cancer, the relative 5-year survival rate is nearly100% and the relative 10-year survival rate is 91%. The 15-year relative survival rate is 76%.

    Many breast cancers are detected at later stages and survival rates are not quite as good.
    # Stage I:100%

    # Stage IIA: 92%

    # Stage IIB:81%

    # Stage IIIA:67%

    # Stage IIIB:54%

    # Stage IV:20%

  4. Michele permalink*
    October 13, 2009 12:02 am

    I know that most men who have prostate cancer don’t die from it. That’s because it is slow to progress and affects older men who die of something else before the prostate cancer can kill them.

    Most breast cancer is diagnosed at the earlier stages which is reflected in the overall five-year survival of 90% hence the high number of young, vocal survivors.

Leave a Reply

