Skip to content

What next in Afghanistan?

October 6, 2009

When people suggest that Afghanistan or Iraq will be America’s “next Vietnam”, I agree but not in the way that they mean.  What I think is that the politicians need to stay out of it and let the military run the war.  That’s what I learned from reading “We were soldiers once and young…”  I was reminded of that today when I read an analysis of our options in Afghanistan as described by Rusty at the Jawa Report.  I highly recommend reading the whole thing.

I’m not sure we need to follow the Iraq strategy in Somalia. Frankly, I’m not sure how to solve the Somalia problem!

However, I am fairly confident that following the Somalia strategy in Afghanistan is a sure path to failure. And failure in the war against violent Islamism is not an option.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Perez Christina permalink
    October 7, 2009 11:56 am

    nice post

Leave a Reply

