Skip to content

Women can’t drive in Saudi Arabia …

October 5, 2009

and I now understand why.  Can you guess?

Niqab-thumb

Safety.  How can a woman safely drive while wearing a niqab???!  These women have no peripheral vision.  I don’t drive with my hood up in winter for the same reason.  Peripheral vision is kind of necessary.

I saw a woman wearing a niqab sitting in a car outside of Superstore.  She was in the driver’s seat so I presume that she was driving the car.  Is it legal to drive with obstructed vision?  Do they have to take their driver’s test wearing what they plan to wear on a daily basis?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Mina permalink
    January 4, 2010 10:59 pm

    Why do most Muslim women wear a niqab in SA anyways? They do not have to as mentioned in the Quran. They can just wear a hijab. SHEESH> People go too far with religion…………

  2. Michele permalink*
    January 4, 2010 11:11 pm

    It’s the law in Saudi Arabia.

  3. Maria permalink
    February 12, 2010 12:39 pm

    I don’t think it’s by law that they have to wear the niqab. I think it’s just pressure by the society.
    But if they just wear the Hijab, i think they’ll be able to see well enough to drive. There’s absolutly no reason why a woman can’t drive..anywhere. If a woman knows that she doesn’t have the ability to drive, then maybe she shouldn’t. I’m a woman, and I’m able to drive fairly well, yet the law prohibits me from driving in KSA. It gives me the impression that they think males are superior to females…but that’s just me. I also think that if more women would drive in saudi arabia, the men would be more carefull, but that’s only a theory.

    • Michele permalink*
      February 12, 2010 7:06 pm

      It’s the law and the religious police enforce it.
      And of course the men think that they are better than women. I just read this morning that Saudi women spend up to 35% of their income on taxis and drivers because they can’t drive and they aren’t allowed to go out unless accompanied by a male relative.

      You should read this:
      http://articles.latimes.com/2007/jun/06/world/fg-women6

  4. Manal permalink
    March 28, 2010 6:10 pm

    Hi Mina,
    Am Manal, and am a Saudi girl. Some women wear the niqab because they want to do something extra, something more than they are required to do, but they are doing it anyway for god to show him how much she loves him, it is something between the person and god. I don’t think that it is a bad thing because do you know how hard it is to cover her whole body !!! I know that deep inside these women want to have freedom and to be able to wear shorts and etc, but she is fitting her self to do what she is doing for god. Actually, I don’t wear the niqab, because you can say that am from a modern family. However I do appreciate these women. =D glad to answer some of your questions

  5. Manal permalink
    March 28, 2010 6:26 pm

    Hi Michele,
    Am from Saudi and it’s true that women can’t drive in Saudi Arabia, but that does not mean that she is suffering because she can’t dive, but instead men in my country treat women like a princes. For example, almost every family in Saudi Arabia has a driver and a housekeeper, isn’t that an amazing thing to have. I feel like am a princess in my country. and driving is not an issue for most of us. And yes I believe that some people can’t afford the money to have a driver, but if you thought of it how their gonna afford the money to buy a car?!!! however, Saudi people like to help each other. For example, if you are from a wealthy family, we give poor people every year, by giving them money, and buy for them what they need to live a good life. I hope I answered your questions. =D

  6. Jenn permalink
    February 12, 2011 7:50 pm

    actually Michele it is not the law. women do not have to wear the niqab, that is more of a culture thing. I have been there.

Trackbacks

  1. Burqa Ban « Because No One Asked

Leave a Reply

