Skip to content

They’re just cupcakes.

September 21, 2009

We tried the brand new bakery in our neighborhood.  Actually, it’s not really a bakery.  They only sell cupcakes.  Seriously.  Hence the name: The Cupcake Corner.

The cupcakes are very expensive.  A regular cupcake is $3.00 and the mini cupcakes are $1.75.  What’s interesting is that the prices are lower in Winnipeg which I discovered on the website.

Did I mention that they only sell cupcakes?  No coffee.  No juice.  No milk.  Just cupcakes.  The cupcakes look very pretty but the family consensus is that they aren’t as good as mine.  (Thanks!)

So … overpriced and just okay means that we’ll only be infrequent customers.

Just in case someone from the store reads this:  Perhaps you could move the slightly grumpy man from the front counter to the backroom?  I assume that he was working out the glitches which are common in a new business but he wasn’t exactly a friendly face to greet customers.

40 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2009 1:13 pm

    Hi Michele,

    I’m one of the owners of The Cupcake Corner in Saskatoon and thought I should respond to your article.

    Just so you know, our Winnipeg store will be moving to the new pricing on October 1st. And our prices are based on a number of factors that include ingredient and packaging prices, rent, staffing (all of which are very different between Saskatoon and Winnipeg). Our prices (especially bulk prices) are close to if not the lowest in Canada among specialty cupcake shops that have a storefront.

    We are currently working on bringing in unique drinks for sale, but have not found anything in the city that matches our products style. I can certainly get Coke and Pepsi or regular juices, but they obviously wouldn’t be a good fit with our store. We tried Milk and Milk-2-Go at our Winnipeg location; unfortunately they simply expire too quickly to be practical.

    I apologize for the grumpy man at the desk, normally we try to be as welcoming and friendly as possible, but we are still human.

    I would love to discuss this further with you if you have some time. Give me a call or send me an e-mail to set something up if you are interested!

    Have a great weekend!

    Jarrod Stewart
    Chief Operating Officer
    The Cupcake Corner
    (c) 306-880-9600
    (w) 306-933-3385
    jarrod@thecupcakecorner.ca

  2. Joan permalink
    October 3, 2009 6:42 pm

    I’d have to agree on your assessment, Michele! I found your blog after googling to see what other people thought of the Cupcake Corner. The cupcakes are ok but not very inventive and way too expensive for what you get. For $3/piece, they better be really really good and they are not.

  3. Tom permalink
    October 20, 2009 3:02 pm

    I’ve seen the grumpy guy at the front – I think he’s the owner…

  4. Michele permalink*
    October 20, 2009 4:29 pm

    Is he still there? Maybe they need a back office.

  5. Audrey permalink
    November 4, 2009 9:40 pm

    I’ve seen the sour owner too!

    Someone I know asked the owner if he could make pink cupcakes for a breast cancer marathon she was organizing. he said ‘don’t you think we are enemies? b/c you are promoting health and we sell cupcakes? i don’t think it’s a good idea that we participate this transaction”

    he refused to make cupcakes that she wanted to PAY FOR, for an event to FIGHT BREAST CANCER!

    How deplorable is that? I would like to see Mr. Stewart answer that.

  6. Michele permalink*
    November 4, 2009 11:07 pm

    That’s insane!

    All he had to do was add pink food coloring and that’s an obnoxious answer.

    We haven’t been back since our first visit and we don’t plan to go.

  7. Michele permalink*
    November 4, 2009 11:08 pm

    Update: This is apparently wrong (See owner’s comment below). The store is not a franchise. The Winnipeg and Saskatoon stores are owned by the same people. Sorry.

    Audrey — You should go on their website from the link above and let the owners of the company know what happened. The local store is a franchise.

  8. Audrey permalink
    November 5, 2009 10:28 am

    Thanks Michele for the suggestion. Since it was the owner who said that, what’s the point in telling him about what he did? It’s so obnoxious and unbelievable. I absolutely am stunned.

  9. November 5, 2009 10:49 am

    I’m not really too sure where to begin.

    First of all, our Saskatoon location is not a franchise. Both of our locations are owned and operated by the same partnership.

    I was very surprised to read your response Audrey for several reasons. This is the first I have heard of this incident, and to mine as well as my staffs knowledge we have never once refused our products or services to anyone for any reason. Although our Saskatoon location has not been open for very long, we have provided nearly 1000 cupcakes for several charitable organizations including three separate major breast cancer awareness events. This does not include the hundreds of pink cupcakes with pink chocolate ribbons that we have made for individual customer events.

    The breast cancer events are as follows:
    -October 16th Healthy Boobies ‘Ladies Night Out Bachelor Auction’
    http://www.healthyboobies.com
    -C95 Radio Marathon at The Centre Mall
    -Framing and Art Centre in Grosvenor Park Cancer Awareness Fundraiser

    We have also participated in several fundraising and charitable events in Winnipeg related to Cancer:

    -2008 & 2009 Cancercare Manitoba’s ‘Challenge for Life’
    -2008 & 2009 Canadian Cancer Society ‘Relay for Life’
    -Cupcakes for Cancer Fundraiser with HOT 103.1 fm
    -COPS for Cancer event collaborated with Astral Media
    -Canada Day Celebration for Cancercare 2008 (which raised $3500.00)
    -2008 Earls Girls Breast Cancer Calendar

  10. November 5, 2009 10:49 am

    This is simply a list of the major events related to cancer that we have been a part of.

    I’m not sure where this story came from, but it is absolutely ridiculous that we would refuse to make cupcakes for any event, especially if someone were willing to pay for them!

    I sincerely apologize to your friend if something we said or did made her feel as though we did not want to make cupcakes for her event, but I would love to speak with her about it to get all of the details. We are continually trying to improve on our products and service, and rely on customer feedback to do so.

    Again I am always willing to discuss customer concerns and suggestions, and if anyone is interested, please send me an e-mail or contact me and I can provide photos and testimonials from many of the events we have done!

    Thank you, and have a great day!

    Jarrod Stewart
    Chief Operating Officer
    The Cupcake Corner
    (c) (306) 880-9600
    (p) (306) 933-3385
    jarrod@thecupcakecorner.ca

  11. November 5, 2009 3:21 pm

    Hi there,

    I normally do not participate in blog debates, however I feel very strongly about defending Jarrod and the Cupcake Corner. They have helped our organization by donating cupcakes for our events and our group has placed several orders for their speciality cupcakes. They have been extremly helpful and prompt. I have heard nothing but wonderful feedback on this business and their speciality products. I personally enjoy their variety of icing flavours. They have also been prompt in responding to specialty order. I keep repeating speciality because they really do specialize in making a wonderful product. To me, this is not a one stop shop like Tim Horton’s and while I appreciate the ability to have a drink with my donut, I also appreciate the quality of a custom desert, which is what the cupcake corner offers. Jarrod is a member of a networking group I attend. I have only known Jarrod for a short time, and I truly believe he has done a phenomenal job in starting the Saskatoon location.

    On a side not, I assume, he is the grumpy one mentioned, which while I can understand how his demenour could be percieved that way, I would instead use reserved as a descriptive for his personality. He has been nothing but professional with a large group of my colleages as well as myself. I would highly recommend the Cupcake Corner for individuals looking for something a bit different for a staff function birthday party or a simple thank you to someone.

    Thank you

    Anjelene

  12. Tiffany permalink
    November 5, 2009 5:18 pm

    Hello everyone,

    I would also like to follow up on the comments made about The Cupcake Corner because I have to admit I am rather shocked! I am from Winnipeg and have had Jarrod’s assistance for a charity event I also was a part of (The Society for Manitobans with Disabilities annual Drop Zone Fundraiser). I approached Jarrod and asked if the company would be interested in sponsoring this event and provide cupcakes. Jarrod welcomed the opportunity with open arms and helped make the event a big success!

    I have also witnessed various other occasions when this company has provided it’s support for other charitable organizations. They provided cupcakes for the Winnipeg Humane Society annual gala fundraising dinner, have a day when 100% of the day’s sales go to CancerCare Manitoba, have provided cupcakes for the CancerCare Relay for Life, and the list goes on. This Cupcake Corner is very well known in Winnipeg as a generous and friendly business, and they have numerous certificates of gratitude from the organizations they have supported on their wall to prove it.

    The taste, cost, size, color, texture, etc, etc, etc of the cupcakes is a personal preferance and in this world, it is impossible to please everyone. However, when it comes to stating that the owner is unkind, unfriendly and would turn down a paying customer based on the fact they would like cupcakes for a charitable function, well that is absolutely absurd and honestly, I believe it one of those “heard it through the grapevine” type rumors that has manifested into a downright lie.

    As I have stated previously, I have worked closely with Jarrod for my own charity connections and he was very kind and helpful. And he certainly does not seem like the type of person who would turn away a PAYING customer! As Jarrod has said, the company is not a franchise and is locally owned, therefore does it not seem ridiculous that the owner would turn away a customer’s money? I’m sure Jarrod could agree with me when I say, what you do with your cupcakes is your business, as long as the transaction is profitable and the customer is satisfied.

    The grumpy man you are referring to likely is Jarrod, however as Anjelene said very nicely, I’m sure his demeanor could be percieved that way as he is more of a reserved, “businessman” type of personality, however during the time I worked with him, he was very friendly, helpful and liked to joke around. Perhaps he was having a bad day (as any of us can imagine a business owner who is still human might have). For all we know, maybe something was going wrong behind the scenes at the store or he broke up with his girlfriend that day or something? However perhaps Jarrod can take this blog as constructive criticism? I don’t know!

    My apologies for being so long-winded, however I hope my experience has helped shed some light on this.

  13. Bonnie permalink
    November 5, 2009 11:41 pm

    Wow, I must say that I am personally VERY shocked at this negativety to The Cupcake Corner. I personally had Jarrod make my wedding cake with matching cupcakes and they were more than a hit with my guests!! The detail and special requests I had were met beyond our expectations. Not only were my red velvet cupcakes perfect, but he offered to make all my choclates for us too!! Sorry to hear that one or two people have had bad experiences. Wonder why anyone would go to a specialty cupcake store and expect more than cupcakes!! Anyways, more people are behind The Cupcake Corner than not so keep doing what you are doing!! (But if you were grumpy one or two days, get another Timmies and be happy!!)

  14. Michele permalink*
    November 6, 2009 12:06 am

    Enough with the long-winded testimonials already. We get it.

    Are you recruiting each other to write these or is the owner asking you to do it?

    Hey! Maybe you could start your own “I love The Cupcake Corner” blog!

  15. John permalink
    November 6, 2009 12:30 am

    Aww muffin! Or Perhaps “Cupcake” would be more appropriate 😉

    Make Love, not war!

    My wife adores the cupcakes and me everytime I bring one to her…keep on truckin dude!

  16. Audrey permalink
    November 6, 2009 9:05 pm

    I’m not sure why someone who came in asking you to make cupcakes, would lie about something like that. Yes, it’s heresay but the story told is pretty clear. i’d never expect you to say “yeah I said that but I’m sorry”. Who admits to something like that? Denial is expected.

    I’ve been to your store a few times. Didn’t like the cupcakes and didn’t care for your attitude. Sorry but that’s how it is. And I’m not going to get into a debate about it here.

    I agree with Michele – it’s pretty clear that you’ve gotten everyone you’ve made cupcakes for to come and defend you. And it’s a bit tacky. Do they even read this blog otherwise?

  17. Joan permalink
    November 6, 2009 9:08 pm

    Has anyone tried the other new cupcake place downtown? I notice the prices are cheaper overall and they have more flavors. I’m going to head down there tomorrow to see how they compare.

  18. Michele permalink*
    November 6, 2009 9:43 pm

    Where is the other store?

  19. Joan permalink
    November 7, 2009 12:31 pm

    In the King George Hotel – across the street from the old Bay building. It’s called the “Cupcake Conspiracy”. I just popped by today and the cupcakes were cheaper and more natural tasting. I like their commitment to the community. And you can get free cupcakes with their stamp card.

    http://saskatooncupcakes.blogspot.com/

  20. Bonnie permalink
    November 7, 2009 1:57 pm

    Wow, don’t mess with Saskatchewan’s and their cupcakes. Here in Winnipeg, we have much more to do that spent time blogging about desserts. Take it easy ladies, life’s too short. Don’t buy cupcakes… the world won’t end.

  21. Michele permalink*
    November 7, 2009 2:26 pm

    Hmmmm. I suspect that Joan is just here to promote the other Saskatoon cupcake shop.

    She mentions the cheaper prices before she’s even been in the shop and just a day after they’ve opened?

    Has anyone else tried it?

    Honestly, I’m not going to brave the crazy parking downtown just to try a cupcake so we won’t be going anytime soon.

  22. Michele permalink*
    November 7, 2009 3:57 pm

    And yet Bonnie has time to read and comment on blog posts about cupcakes …

  23. Joan permalink
    November 7, 2009 6:49 pm

    I have no affiliation with the other cupcake place. I think there’s enough room for BOTH cupcake stores in Saskatoon – we only have two and I hope they BOTH do well, regardless of whether I like them or not.

    I only know of the cheaper prices because I called the day they opened to find out how much they cost. They said $2.50/cupcake vs. $3.00.

    It’s all personal preference. I like the feel of the other place better – and the taste after trying them today. But some people will prefer the other place. To each their own. But to say I have a biased opinion or that I’m here to promote the one place over the other – NO!!

  24. Michele permalink*
    November 7, 2009 8:38 pm

    Fair enough.

  25. Joan permalink
    November 8, 2009 5:34 pm

    The cupcakes at the second store are also too small. The cake doesn’t fill up to the top, which is a big no-no, IMO. Tastier, but needs to be bigger.

    • Michele permalink*
      November 8, 2009 9:34 pm

      Some people will probably like the higher icing to cake ratio!

      Of course, that depends upon the icing. Safeway has HUGE amounts of icing on their cupcakes but it’s just too much. Ick.

  26. Joan permalink
    November 9, 2009 8:00 pm

    It’s true – if the icing is good, you can have lots of it. I can’t stand Safeway’s cupcakes – so disgusting!

    I really like the cupcakes at the Conspiracy store but they are far too small. It needs to meet the top of the wrapper and have a good rounded top from that top edge upwards. Maybe the wrapper itself is too small too. Some of my friends thought the full sized cupcakes were MINIS!

  27. Michele permalink*
    November 9, 2009 11:08 pm

    Well, that explains the lower price point.

  28. Gwen permalink
    November 10, 2009 9:38 am

    Whoa. I’m surprised at your passion for cupcakes! It’s exciting to have both places here, don’t you think?

    I’ve tried both. My experience at CupCake Corner was a good one. It was shortly after they opened, and the cup cakes were good. I had no expereince with this grumpy man you speak of. Infact, the man I spoke to there was quite nice.

    The CupCake Conspiracy downtown is newer and a totally different feel than CupCake Corner. Their cup cakes are tastey too. Actually, I prefer the taste of theirs over CupCake Corner, but I do still like them both. The ones I got from CupCake Conspiracy were on the small side. Some were larger than others, though. I put this down to that they’re new and still trying to work everything out. CupCake Corner, I’m sure had some bumps to smooth out when they opened as well.

    Way to go Saskatoon for having two cup cake stores on our fine streets!

  29. Joan permalink
    November 10, 2009 5:54 pm

    Gwen, nice to read your viewpoint! Especially since you tried both and have love for both! I’m total agreement that I like the Conspiracy cakes’ tastewise, better, but that they are on the small size. but it’s like you said – they just opened and as the feedback comes in and as the kinks are worked out, they will rock it out. The Cupcake Corner already has a Winnipeg store so of course it’s easy for them not to have as many obstacles (I still don’t like the taste or service but that’s just me).

    I gave the Conspiracy store another drop by today b/c their flavor of the week was tiramisu with marscapone frosting. Whoa. Forget the regular flavors and get these while you can this week.

    Hooray for Saskatoon having two stores indeed!

  30. Laura Alcose permalink
    January 4, 2010 2:48 pm

    Screw those grouches in Osborne Village. Ccups just opened on Regent ave. Her cupcakes are killer and moist and cheaper! She even serves all kinds of coffees and teas and the design of her store is first class. And custom cakes just as good as Cake Boss on tv. And friendly! My new hang out for sure! http://www.ccups.ca

  31. February 9, 2010 12:15 am

    My husband and I did not like the cupcakes at The Cupcake Corner, and the decor was really blah. The pictures on the wall didn’t look professional. The guy at the desk was cranky with us too and we were the only ones there…. we waited a long time for him to get off the computer and we almost left.

    Cupcake conspiracy is better, I’ve been there twice. Their packaging and customer service is superior.

  32. Michele permalink*
    February 9, 2010 8:55 am

    Wow.

    I would have thought that the service would improve over time. I guess that they don’t take constructive criticism seriously.

  33. cindy s. permalink
    August 8, 2010 10:03 pm

    i hosted a party lastnight at my place and someone brought two boxes of the Cupcake Corner cupcakes………i had never heard of them before in Saskatoon! Not only were they beautiful and adorable packaging, but they tasted wonderful.
    Seriously ‘Sasha’….who bites into one of those beautiful cupcakes and says they ‘didn’t like them’? Sounds like you are one of those customers that just can’t be pleased…..Period.

  34. Michele permalink*
    August 8, 2010 11:11 pm

    Maybe they’ve improved in the past six months?

    We might just have to give them another try.

  35. Rayme permalink
    January 5, 2011 10:31 am

    Hi, I would have to agree with the grumpy man at the counter statements. I’ve met Jarrod the owner, and he is rude. Go to Cupcake conspiracy downtown. Friendly, better prices, and very professional.

    • Michele permalink*
      January 7, 2011 5:42 pm

      Is he still there?

  36. Bill Mangerhouse permalink
    October 20, 2011 12:29 am

    its cupcakes…who gives any fucks about any of this . I can’t believe I stumbled across this, but honestly don’t let garbage like this occupy your mind and don’t invest any of your emotion into it….not worth it at all…..phht……cupcake conversations

Trackbacks

  1. The Cupcake Conspiracy « Because No One Asked
  2. Cupcake-sized Profits? « Because No One Asked

Leave a Reply

