Skip to content

Why can you not stay in your own lane?!

September 7, 2009

Saskatchewan drivers frustrate me.  I’ve lived here 11 years and I’m still not used to them.  Oh, I know what to expect but I have not achieved acceptance.  I’m still stuck on anger.  Where to start?  Complete lack of merging skill?  Speeding up in order to slip into the tiny space in front of me rather than slowing a bit to go behind me where there are no other cars?

Not today.  Today’s rant is about turning and traffic flow.  Many more cars could move through intersections if drivers would stay in their own lane when turning.

Here’s an example:

intersection cars

When I am in a turn lane, I often am faced with the dilemma above.  I am the red car.  I could turn into the inside lane (see red arrow) IF the blue car turns into the outside lane (see blue arrow).  I’m from Iowa.  That’s what we were taught in driver’s ed.   However, knowing Saskatchewan drivers as I do, the blue car is most likely going to turn wide and end up in the inside lane.  Aaaargh.  WHY?

Seriously.  Stay in your own damn lane.  We’ll all be safer and more cars will get through the lights without instituting the typical Saskatoon “I’ve been waiting so I’m going to turn even thought the light is now red” rule.

Diagram from Answers.com.  Lovely rectangles and lines with arrows via very basic MSPaint skills.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 9:00 pm

    I agree. When turning left or right at an intersection you shoud turn into the nearest lane (i.e. left or right lane). No more wide turns, we’re not pulling a swather behind us.

  2. September 8, 2009 9:05 pm

    While I rant; could you four wheel truck drivers park between the white lines in parking lots. If you can’t do that buy a scooter.

  3. September 9, 2009 2:26 pm

    I agree! The scariest intersection in Saskatoon is that one on Clarence by the University Bridge. I always take the inside because most people who drive on the inside tend to go waaayyy over the line on the turn into the outside lane.

    As far as trucks go in parking lots. My dad parks like that because alot of people pull up very close making it extremely difficult for them to get out.

  4. Michele permalink*
    September 9, 2009 4:44 pm

    Have you ever tried leaving the Place Riel parking lot while two buses and a car are at the same intersection? I’m completely shocked that I didn’t hit anyone.

  5. September 9, 2009 9:08 pm

    Every time I think I would like to take a job at the University I remember what driving was like there while I was a student. I am glad I no longer have to drive there, unless I really need too.

Leave a Reply

